SSAS: There are currently no logon servers available to process the request

Today I went to process my Analysis Services dimension so that I could examine the differences between 2 things. When I went to process it, my processing failed with this error message:

 

image

 

The key part of this error seemed to be the section highlighted: “The following system error occurred:  There are currently no logon servers available to service the logon request.” That’s….odd. It’s the Adventure Works database on my machine, on a database with only 1 dimension. Then I realized that my project was in SSDT 2010 but the Analysis Services solution I was pointing to was 2008R2 (whoops). I went into the data source, changed the Provider from SQL Server Native Client 11.0 to SQL Server Native Client 10.0, and boom, it processes fine. After that I went back in and changed the provider back to SQL Server Native Client 11.0, and it still processed successfully. Seems like a bug, I’ve logged an issue on Connect today. The really interesting part about this error is that it actually has nothing to do with the server not being able to handle the logon request.

 

Also, instead of changing the provider I could have tried changing the source to point to a 2012 instance, but I didn’t have a 2012 multidimensional instance installed on the machine I was working on the time.

Leave a Reply

